What Regions Does Russia Border On The Moscow Region

Table of contents:

What Regions Does Russia Border On The Moscow Region
What Regions Does Russia Border On The Moscow Region

Video: What Regions Does Russia Border On The Moscow Region

Video: How Many Countries Border Russia? 2022, December

The Moscow Region is an independent subject of the Russian Federation, which, however, is often referred to simply as the Moscow Region. It shares borders with seven other regions and Moscow.

What regions does Russia border on the Moscow region
What regions does Russia border on the Moscow region

Moscow region

The Moscow region (MO) is not the most common example of a constituent entity of the Russian Federation: while other regions, as a rule, have a pronounced regional center, which is often the same name of the territory, in the Moscow region such a center is the city of Moscow, which has the status of a separate constituent entity of the Federation …

As a result, the Moscow region has a rather unusual shape: in the center of this territory there is a space that is not part of it. Thus, formally, we can say that Moscow is one of the subjects of the Federation with which the Moscow region has common borders.

In total, more than 70 cities are located on the territory of the region, of which about 20 have a population exceeding 100 thousand people. However, even these cities can hardly be called large, especially in comparison with Moscow: the most numerous of them are Khimki and Balashikha, the population of each of which is slightly more than 200 thousand people.

Borders of the Moscow region

In addition to Moscow, the Moscow region has common borders with seven constituent entities of the Federation that surround it along the perimeter. The total length of these borders is about 1200 kilometers. So, in the north and in the northwestern part of its territory, the Moscow region borders on the Tver region: this border is formed by Lotoshinsky, Shakhovsky, Klinsky, Dmitrovsky, Taldomsky and partially - Sergiev-Posadsky districts. At the same time, the Sergiev Posad District of the Moscow Region is one of the record holders in terms of the number of borders with neighboring constituent entities of the Russian Federation: it also has a small section of the common border with the Yaroslavl Region, located northeast of the Moscow Region, and with the Vladimir Region.

The border with the Vladimir region in the north-east and east of the territory is also formed by Shchelkovsky, Noginsky, Pavlovo-Posadsky, Orekhovo-Zuevsky and Shatursky districts. Shatursky district, in turn, also borders on the Ryazan region along with Yegoryevsky, Lukhovitsky, Zaraysky and Serebryano-Prudsky districts located in the southeastern part of the Moscow region. The Serebryano-Prudsky District also forms the border with the Tula Region, which subsequently passes through the Kashirsky, Stupinsky and Serpukhovsky Districts, that is, through the southern part of the Moscow Region.

The border with the Kaluga Region in the southwest of the Moscow Region includes the territories of Serpukhovsky, Chekhovsky, Klimovsky, Naro-Fominsky and Mozhaisky districts. Finally, the Smolensk region borders on the western part of the Moscow region on the territories of the Mozhaisky and Shakhovsky districts.

Popular by topic